Home Builders Association of the Sioux Empire Announces 2018 Industry Awards


Pictured left to right:
Left image: Jim Dunham, Luke Urlacher, Preston Mettler
Middle image: Scott Hjellming (pictured with wife, Chris)
Right image: Jeff Schlepp (pictured with wife, Jean)

SIOUX FALLS, SD, December 10, 2018 ---The Home Builders Association of the Sioux Empire (HBASE) is proud to announce the 2018 Building Industry Award Winners. “These awards highlight our top members in 2018 who have helped to make significant contributions to the association,” said Kim Hefner-Hines, 2018 President.

HBASE Housing Hall of Fame Inductee --- Scott Hjellming, Hjellming Construction Co.
Scott served as HBASE President in 2002 and was the HBASE Builder of the Year in 1999. As one of the largest HBASE membership recruiters, Scott also served on numerous local, state and national committees and boards within the association. One of his largest projects was from 2007-2010 when he led the construction of an 18-bedroom Ronald McDonald House near Sanford Health, the HBASE’s largest community project. Along with the help of many members, Scott was also the General Contractor of the HBASE office construction project when it was built in 2006.

HBASE Builder Member of the Year --- Preston Mettler, First Choice Development
Preston serves on a number of HBASE committees including Building Codes, Local Government Affairs and Legislative. In addition to serving on the HBASE Board of Directors, Preston also serves on the SEFAH Board of Directors as well (Sioux Empire Friends of Affordable Housing which is HBASE’s Political Action Committee). Preston is also a national director with the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB).

HBASE Associate Member of the Year --- Jim Dunham, Jim Dunham & Associates
Jim was the top HBASE membership recruiter in 2018 by signing up 10 new members. In addition to his membership dedication, he is a strong, legislative advocate for the housing industry. He currently chairs the HBASE’s Local Government Affairs Committee and also serves on the SEFAH Board of Directors.

HBASE Volunteer of the Year --- Luke Urlacher, Builders FirstSource
Luke served as the 2018 chair of the Repair Affair Committee which coordinates volunteers who do free accessibility related repairs in June for income qualifying homeowners. Luke went above and beyond for this annual community service project by helping out in various ways behind the scenes. For the second year in a row, Luke also volunteered to lead the association’s Fantasy Football League, a popular membership engagement tool.

HBASE Presidential Award --- Jeff Schlepp, Southeast Technical Institute
As a longtime instructor at Southeast Tech, Jeff oversees the school’s NAHB student chapter which he brings to NAHB’s annual International Builders Show. Over the years, his HBASE involvement includes serving on the Member Education Committee and the Workforce Development Committee including representing the association at area career fairs. He has coordinated multiple floor plan designs for the association including for the Sioux Empire Home ShowTM, the Sioux Empire Home Builders Care Foundation’s charity home in 2014 and also the current HBASE office.

# # #

Download photos of award winners: 

Editor’s Note: For more information please contact the HBASE office at 605-361-8322.